Life and Work

The Society is organised into three provinces: the European Province, which includes England, the Southern Province, based in Australia and the Southern African Province, with priories in Capetown and Lesotho.

Members of each province meet regularly together in chapter, under the leadership of a Provincial.


Most members of the Society live in community, where they are able to give each other companionship, encouragement and mutual support.

Other members, including those who have retired from active involvement with the life of the priories, live independently, sometimes acting in a chaplaincy role for other religious communities. Central to the life of each house is its daily worship: coming together for the Eucharist and divine office.


The Society in England is engaged in a variety of works. The two prominent works are an ecumenical spirituality centre is based at St Antony's Priory in Durham, and St Michael's Priory in Milton Keynes (formerly Willen Priory). Both projects welcome many people for spiritual direction, quiet days, retreats and other activities.


Most houses of the Society provide hospitality for guests to stay for shorter or longer periods, for rest and refreshment, retreats and times of quiet.

In addition to this, the Society is able to make grants to support theological education: a number of students from former eastern-bloc countries have been helped to study theology in Durham. Support is also given to the educational work of a Christian ashram in south India.

The European Province of the Society publishes a magazine twice a year. If you would like to receive it please contact any of our priories.